Pro Mazda

The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires debuted in 2013 as a new series in the Mazda Road to Indy, replacing the Star Mazda Championship which ceased operation in 2012 after 22 years. The series is sanctioned by IndyCar and owned and operated by Andersen Promotions. It is the second official step on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system with the series' champion awarded a scholarship package from Mazda to advance to Indy Lights competition the following year.

The series is a key level on the Mazda Road to Indy, bridging the gap between USF2000 Championship and Indy Lights. Graduates include IZOD IndyCar Series drivers Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe, Conor Daly and Graham Rahal, and rising stars Spencer Pigot, Zach Veach and Matthew Brabham among many others.

Cooper provides both slick and moulded rain tires for the series' entrants. Up to three sets of tires will be available for purchase per car at each race event, and up to four sets of tires per car will be available at official test dates. Cooper will provide trackside mounting service and tire engineering support at each race and official test.

Cooper Tire will also present the winner of each race's Pole Position with a check for $1,250.

The series will offer a schedule of events that includes road courses, street circuits and oval speedways, all geared towards training young drivers on all three types of circuits.

For more information on the Pro Mazda Championship, visit

Keep Rolling